Birthdays

5 02 2012

With my 28th birthday approaching I thought I would take a humorous (at least an attempt to be) look back at some of the more memorable birthdays in my life and try to see where this ranks in the list of birthdays.

February 9th 1984 – The original birthday, I was born and placed in the arms of my excited parents. Had they known that 27 years later I’d still be living in the same house, they may not have been as enthusiastic

February 9th 1992/93 – My birthday was spent at the Pacific Coliseum watching the Harlem Globetrotters play. We returned the following year in the hopes the Washington Generals might pull off the upset, unfortunately this was not the case.

February 9th 1995/96 – Mum and Dad organized a party at Newton Wave Pool with a few of my friends, little did I know at the time but wave pools are places I would visit well into my 20’s working for day camps. Amazingly, they are still as fun as they were back then.

February 9th 1998 – This birthday was spent in the United Kingdom, at school I was made fun of all day for not knowing enough about “football” and having a funny accent. Actually, this might be the closest comparison to my 28th birthday.

February 9th 2001 – I decided to spend this birthday out with my friends. February 10th  2001 may have been the worst day of my life

February 9th 2003 – With Mum and Dad living in New Zealand for a few months I had the not so bright idea of hosting my own birthday party.

February 9th 2005 – I had recently located to Guelph, Ontario for University and with my new group of friends we went for dinner at Jen’s house in Mississauga. The roast we had there was quite possibly the only home cooked meal I had in University.

February 9th 2008 – I arrived in Christchurch, New Zealand just in time to celebrate my birthday with Louise, Andrew and their friends. As we were on the bus into town I met several other Canadians, one of them in particular I remember being gigantic. This giant man would later become one of my closest friends

February 9th 2009 – I worked a 10 hour day of construction followed by a gruelling rugby practice and a hockey game in which my team was blown out. Not exactly the birthday I had envisioned.

February 9th 2010 – The city of Vancouver decided to throw a 17 day long party for me. It was broadcast all around the world and every night medals were awarded. It was capped off with perhaps the greatest celebration of my life – Canada winning the Men’s hockey gold.

February 9th 2011 – I spent my 27th birthday unemployed and still living at home. Having just recently quit construction I was feeling a bit useless and vowed to make some changes by the time I was 28.

So there you have it. There have certainly been some memorable birthdays in my life. A birthday is a good time to reflect on where I am in life and where I am heading. For the first time since my New Zealand birthday I feel as though I am on the right track. Probably a good thing as 30 draws closer!

Actions

Information

One response

11 03 2016
The Land Down Under | Jonathan Wynn

[…] 9th February, which happened to be my 32nd birthday. It certainly will rank up there in terms of memorable birthdays as I got the opportunity to meet my niece, Olivia, for the very first time! Louise and Andrew […]

Leave a Reply

BC Urban Planning Blog

Your British Columbia Source

Blog

exploring the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Political Interest

A worldwide look at the political world

Down Goes Brown

exploring the world

ProHockeyTalk

ProHockeyTalk on NBCSports.com

Jonathan Wynn

exploring the world

